Conservation Board

In 1955, the Iowa State Legislature passed a law permitting counties to establish County Conservation Boards. The Jasper County Conservation Board was authorized in 1962, with the purpose being to acquire and develop county parks, preserves, forests, wildlife, and other conservation areas.

Five members are appointed to five-year terms by the Board of Supervisors. County Conservation Programs are supported by a tax levy in an amount determined by the Board of Supervisors. Collectively, the Jasper County Conservation Board, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service administer 38 areas, comprising 12,008 acres of Jasper County land dedicated to public use and enjoyment.

Application for Boards and Commissions


  • 4:30 p.m.
  • 1st Tuesday of every month
  • Armory Building
    1030 W 2nd Street S
    Newton, IA 50208

Conservation Board

Robyn Friedman
Bill Henninger
Chris Herbold
Carol Kramer
Andrew Stone

2024 Conservation Board Meetings

May 7, 2024
April 2, 2024
March 5, 2024 · 8:00am
February 6, 2024
January 10, 2024

2023 Conservation Board Meetings

2022 Conservation Board Meetings

2021 Conservation Board Meetings

Stay Connected

Sign up to receive notifications when board meetings and agendas are posted, job openings are announced, and more.

Customize Your Notifications