The County Treasurer is elected every four years at a general election and serves as the county finance officer.


The Treasurer is responsible for collection of taxes and other fees for state, county, city, school districts, community colleges, and other taxing bodies such as townships, fire districts, and drainage districts. The office collects and accounts for all funds coming into the county from the various departments.


  • Investment of County funds
  • Motor Vehicle titling, registration and collection of Use Tax
  • Preparing and mailing annual tax statements 
  • Property Tax Collections
  • Tax apportionment to all taxing bodies
  • Balance financial records
  • Issue driver’s licenses
  • Serving the community


All money is prudently invested and totally insured and protected as required by the Code of Iowa. The Guidelines used are safety, liquidity, and maximum return for the public investment. These investments come from property taxes, state and federal money, motor vehicle fees and other miscellaneous fees collected through other county offices.