About Us


  • 4:30 p.m.
  • 1st Tuesday of every month
  • Armory Building
    1030 W 2nd Street S
    Newton, IA 50208


Chris Herbold

Chris Herbold, Chairperson

Andrew Stone

Andrew Stone, Vice Chairperson

Carol Kramer

Carol Kramer, Secretary

Robyn Friedman

Robyn Friedman, Board Member

Bill Henninger

Bill Henninger

The Development of the Jasper County Conservation Board

In 1955, the Iowa State Legislature passed a law permitting counties to establish County Conservation Boards.

The Jasper County Conservation Board was authorized in 1962, with the purpose being to acquire and develop county parks, preserves, forests, wildlife and other conservation areas.

Conservation Board Information

Five members are appointed to five-year terms by the Board of Supervisors.

County Conservation Programs are supported by a tax levy in an amount determined by the Board of Supervisors.

Collectively, the Jasper County Conservation Board, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service administer 38 areas, comprising 12,008 acres of Jasper County land dedicated to public use and enjoyment.

Board Meetings

The JCCB meets to conduct business and provide guidance to the director who oversees the daily operations of the staff.

Agendas and Minutes 

See agendas and meeting minutes listed on main county agenda page.